You’ve been sending Snaps to a friend, but you notice that they haven’t opened any of them. What gives? Did they block you, or delete their account?
There are a few ways to find out if someone blocked you on Snapchat. We’ll show you how.
How To Know If Someone Blocked You on Snapchat, or Deleted Their Account
Social media platforms like Snapchat won’t tell you if someone blocks your account. So, how do you know if you’re blocked or if the person just deleted their account?
1. Check Your Conversations
Start with your conversation with the person. If they deleted their account or blocked you, your conversations will disappear, and you won’t be able to view their profile.
If you can still view your conversations, this means that the person’s account is still active and they haven’t blocked you. Maybe they’re taking a break from Snapchat or haven’t had time to check their messages.
But if you can’t access your past conversations or even see their profile, then this is a good indication that they’ve either deleted their account or blocked you.
2. Try Sending a Message
If you haven’t sent a Snap to the person recently, try sending them a new message. If the message is delivered, you know that you haven’t been blocked and they haven’t deleted their account.
If they don’t receive your message, then they’ve either blocked you or deleted their account.
Give the message a few minutes to send. If it still says “Pending” and shows a gray icon, then there’s a chance you may have been blocked. Just remember that messages may take longer to send if you or the other person doesn’t have a good internet connection.
3. Search for Them Using Another Account
Let’s say that you’ve checked your conversations and tried sending a message. You know for sure that you can’t contact the person or see their profile. How do you know if they’ve blocked you or just deleted their account?
The simplest way to find out is to search for the person using another account. You can use another account of your own, or you can ask a friend to search for the person’s username.
If you can find them and see their profile using another account, you know for sure that they have blocked you.
If you still can’t find them, then they’ve likely deleted their Snapchat.
There’s also a chance that they’ve changed their username.
How To Know If Someone Blocked You on Snapchat Without Adding Them
What if you want to know whether someone has blocked you without adding them? Maybe you’ve never contacted the person before on Snapchat, but you think they may have blocked you for some reason.
The only way to check is to search for their username.
If their username appears, then they haven’t blocked you. If their name doesn’t show up, there’s a chance that they have blocked you.
What Happens When Someone Blocks You on Snapchat?
If someone blocks you on Snapchat, you won’t be able to:
- View their profile
- Send them messages or Snaps
- View their stories
Blocking a user cuts off all contact. You can’t contact them or see their content, and they can’t contact you or see your content.
What’s the Difference Between Being Blocked and Removed?
Snapchat users have a friends list, and you can be removed from someone’s list. Is this the same thing as being blocked?
- When you’re blocked, all connections are removed. You won’t be able to message the person, view their stories or see their profile.
- When you’re removed from a friend’s list, you can still see their profile and send messages. You just won’t be able to view their stories unless they set them to Everyone.
How to Know If Someone is Following You on Snapchat?
If you know the person hasn’t blocked you or deleted their account, you can check to see if they’re following you on Snapchat.
If you can’t see their Snapscore, then you know they aren’t following you.
Can You Block Someone Who Has Already Blocked You on Snapchat?
No. If someone blocks you on Snapchat, you won’t be able to block them, too. Why? Because you won’t be able to view their profile or past conversations to have the option to block them.
If you don’t want the person to have the option to unblock you and contact you again, you can search for their profile periodically. If it pops up in the search, you can visit their profile and block them.
Snapchat will also alert you if someone adds you on Snapchat, so you can take action if they do unblock you and try to contact you.
Can You Report Someone Who Has Blocked You?
If you feel the need to report someone who has blocked you, you can contact Snapchat Support to send one. Just keep in mind that you will need to provide some information or context. Screenshots are great for reports, but remember that the other person will be alerted if you take a screenshot.
A Friend’s Profile Has Disappeared – What Happened?
Let’s say that you’ve been talking to someone on Snapchat and all of a sudden, their profile disappears. As far as you know, the conversations have been going well, so you’re sure they haven’t blocked you.
It could be that their account was removed from Snapchat.
If someone violates the platform’s terms of service or Snapchat is suspicious of their activity, they may ban their account.
So, it may seem like you’re blocked, but in reality, their account has just been removed.
Follow the steps above to see if someone has blocked you on Snapchat, deleted their account or removed you from their friend’s list.
Being blocked may be frustrating, but don’t take it personally. If you’re concerned, try talking to the person off of social media and work out your differences.