viralyft logo

Buy Followers, Likes, Views & More! 🚀

Buy Followers, Likes, Views & More! 🚀

How To Reset YouTube Recommendations in App & Web

Tired of seeing the same videos on YouTube? Learn the secrets to resetting your recommendations on the app and desktop.
Share article via:
How To reset YouTube recommendations
Table of Contents

YouTube’s algorithm knows you very well. Behind each video you like, subscription you have and comment you leave, there’s a database that stores your every move to learn what type of content is truly engaging to you.

Binging on certain types of content can skew these recommendations, causing you to see videos that you might like but you don’t want to watch every day.

For example, let’s assume that your cabinet door is slamming shut, so you watch 10 videos on the issue until you find the fix that works for you.

Do you want to continue seeing this type of content? Likely not. You’ve fixed the issue, and you want to see other great content. We’re going to explain, step-by-step, how to reset YouTube recommendations to clean up your suggestions.

How Do You Reset Your YouTube Recommendations?

YouTube isn’t like TikTok, where you can easily reset the algorithm and start seeing new recommendations. Instead, you’ll have to work your way through quite a few steps to:

  • Delete your history
  • Delete other activity

Whether you’re on mobile or desktop, follow the steps below to reset the recommendations that you see.

Reset YouTube Recommendations on Mobile and Desktop

To reset your recommendations on mobile, follow the steps below.

Step #1: Open the YouTube app.

Step #2: Tap your profile picture on the bottom-right side of the interface.

Profile Picture

Step #3: Tap the Gear icon at the top of the app.

Gear Icon

Step #4: Tap Manage all history.

Manage all History

Step #5: Scroll down to find the Delete button.

DELETE

Step #6: A Dropdown menu will appear with the option to Delete today, Delete custom range, or Delete all time.

Delete Today

If you choose Delete all Time, it will wipe out your YouTube history and effectively reset your recommendations.

When you tap this option, YouTube will ask you to confirm that you want to delete your activity and will show you a list of what will be deleted.

Tapping the Delete button will remove all of your history.

If you want to be really thorough with resetting your recommendations, you can also delete your video interactions.

Here’s How:

Step #1: Open the YouTube app.

Step #2: Tap your profile picture on the bottom-right side of the interface.

Profile Picture

Step #3: Tap the Gear icon at the top of the app.

Gear Icon

Step #4: Tap Manage all history.

Manage all History

Step #5: Tap the Interactions tab.

Interactions

Step #6: Choose “Video likes and dislikes.”

Video Likes and Dislikes

Step #7: You’ll see a list of videos you’ve liked. Tap the “X” to remove each one.

Tap the X

Step #8: Tap the back button and then choose Comment likes & dislikes.

Step #9: Repeat step 7.

Step #10: Go back again, and this time, choose Comments & replies.

Step #11: Repeat step 7 again.

Step #12: You can go through this process one last time for Live chat messages if you have any.

Removing all of your likes and comments will further reset your recommendations by clearing out any interactions you’ve had with videos.

Note: On desktop, you’ll tap your profile picture and instead of clicking the gear, tap the hamburger icon on the left side of the screen. You can then navigate to History and tap Clear all watch history or tap the “X” next to the video you want to remove from your history.

Can You Turn Off  YouTube History?

Yes! If you want to avoid having YouTube save the videos you watch and what you search for on the platform, you can turn off history.

Here’s how:

  • Open the YouTube app.
  • Tap your profile picture on the bottom-right side of the interface.
  • Tap the Gear icon at the top of the app.
  • Tap Manage all history.
  • Tap Saving your YouTube history.
  • Look for the Turn Off button and tap it.
  • Tap Pause to prevent YouTube from saving your search and watch history.

It’s important to note that pausing this activity won’t delete any of your past data. 

You can also have YouTube delete your history automatically. Follow the first four steps above. Instead of choosing Saving your YouTube history, tap Auto-delete. A window will pop up with a few options, including Auto-delete activity older than. This option will automatically delete activity that is older than:

  • 3 months
  • 18 months
  • 36 months

The auto-delete option will automatically delete your watch and search history at whichever interval you choose.

YouTube’s recommendation algorithm looks at multiple metrics to learn the type of content that will keep you on the app. Time spent on certain videos, likes, comments and subscribes helps send YouTube signals that this is the type of content you prefer.

If you follow the steps above, you’ll delete your viewing history and reshape what the algorithm knows about you.

Users who have been on YouTube since 2005 have changed a lot; your taste in videos and interests have also changed. Reset your recommendations and allow the platform to recommend content that you’ll love in 2023.

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Topics You Might Like