viralyft logo

Buy Followers, Likes, Views & More! 🚀

Buy Followers, Likes, Views & More! 🚀
Search
Close this search box.

What is Instagram Vanish Mode? How to Turn It On & Off?

If you want to send and receive messages without leaving a trail behind, Instagram's Vanish mode is for you! Learn how to turn this exciting feature on and off in only a few easy steps.
Share article via:
Instagram vanish mode
Table of Contents
Key Takeaways

To turn Vanish mode on, open the Instagram app > Swipe to the right to view DMs > Select a user’s chat > From the bottom of the screen, swipe up to enable

To turn Vanish mode off, open the Instagram app > Swipe to the right to view DMs > Select a user’s chat > From the bottom of the screen, swipe up to disable

Only two users who follow each other can enable Vanish mode.
If a screenshot is taken, Instagram will notify the other user instantly.

What is Vanish Mode?

Vanish mode is an exciting feature allowing Instagram users to send messages, videos, photos, and more, which will disappear when one user leaves the chat. It’s an excellent option for anyone concerned with hackers breaking into their accounts or worried about sensitive information. Vanish mode is also a great option for businesses and influencers who want to keep their conversations private since it offers unmatched peace of mind.

When Can You Use Instagram’s Vanish Mode?

Instagram’s vanish mode only works in one-on-one chats between other Instagram accounts; the feature isn’t available for group chats or on a Facebook or Messenger account. It is important to note that some professional accounts are unable to receive messages if vanish mode is enabled, and the feature should only be activated with users you trust.

How To Turn on Instagram Vanish Mode


When you’re ready to use Vanish mode, it only takes a few quick steps to enable this helpful feature.

To Turn Vanish Mode On:

Step #1: Open the Instagram app

Step #2: Swipe to the right to open DMs

Open DMs

Step #3: In the chat, select a user’s chat

Tap Chat

Step #4: From the bottom of the screen, swipe up to turn on Vanish mode

Swipe Up to Turn on

How To Turn off Instagram Vanish Mode

When you’re done using Vanish mode, you can quickly turn the feature off using the following steps. 

To Turn Vanish Mode Off:

Step #1: Open the Instagram app

Step #2: Swipe to the right to open DMs

Open DMs

Step #3: In the chat, select a user’s chat

Tap Chat

Step #4: From the bottom of the screen, swipe up to turn off vanish mode

Swipe Up to Turn Off

As you can see, turning Vanish mode on and off involves pretty much the same steps, making it an incredibly easy feature to use. 

Tips to Remember Before Using Instagram’s Vanish Mode

Before you begin using Instagram’s Vanish mode, it’s important to note that there are certain criteria both users must follow when utilizing the feature. Below is a list of tips to keep in mind as you use Vanish mode.

  • When you turn off Vanish mode, every message that you send within that specific chat will disappear.
  • You can only turn Vanish mode on between two Instagram users who both follow each other.
  • If one user screenshots or screen records the conversation when Vanish mode is on, Instagram will automatically notify the other.
  • Instagram will not allow any user to forward, save, or copy any messages with Vanish mode enabled.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Vanish Mode Work When Only One User Turns It On?

Yes, Instagram's Vanish mode will work if only one user enables the feature, but the other user will receive a notification that it is turned on. Additionally, the chat will turn black when a message is opened, indicating Vanish mode is in use.

Do Both Users Have to Turn Vanish Mode Off?

Either user can turn Vanish mode off at any time, at which time both will exit the feature. It is important to note that both parties can view the messages even after Vanish mode is disabled until the chat window is closed.

Is Vanish Mode Available for Everyone?

While it's easy to see why everyone would want to use this valuable feature, it's only available for Instagram accounts. Facebook and Messenger are not able to use Vanish mode.

Can I Use Vanish Mode in a Group Chat?

Vanish mode is only available for use with two Instagram accounts at a time, so you can only use it with one other person and not in a group chat.

Is Vanish Mode Private?

Vanish mode is an ideal choice for those looking for privacy in their conversations. Since all messages sent when the feature is turned on are end-to-end encrypted, no one can access them, not even Instagram. Additionally, once the chat is closed, the messages disappear forever, and there is no way to retrieve them.

Does Vanish Mode Delete Messages on Both Sides of Instagram?

Yes, whether you are the one who turned the feature on or a chat participant, Instagram will delete all messages sent and received with Vanish mode.

Does Instagram Send an Alert When You Take a Screenshot in Vanish Mode?

Yes, Instagram will alert the other user if you take a screenshot or screen record a message while using Vanish mode.

Can I Recover a Message that Was Sent or Received in Vanish Mode?

Unfortunately (or fortunately), no, once Instagram deletes a message, whether it was sent or received in Vanish mode, it is gone forever.

Conclusion

Vanish mode is a helpful feature for anyone looking for increased privacy and security with their messages. It only takes a few steps to turn it on and off, making it easy for anyone to hold secure conversations without worrying about leaked information. Users receive alerts if screenshots or records are taken, providing unmatched peace of mind.

Whether you’re an influencer trying to grow your online presence, a business owner, or simply like to protect your privacy, Vanish mode is undoubtedly one of Instagram’s coolest features! 

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *