Why Would I Want To Delete My Twitter Account?
When Twitter first hit the scene in 2006, it quickly rose in popularity thanks to its streamlined design and user-friendly interface. In 280 characters or less, users could give their opinion on a subject, make recommendations, or even talk about their last meal; the possibilities were endless! By 2022, Twitter users were sending out approximately 6,000 tweets per second, a mind-boggling number and an indication of the platform’s popularity. The app isn’t without controversy, however, and it quickly became the focus of a nationwide scandal that polarized both sides of the aisle.
Furthermore, Twitter’s acquisition by Elon Musk rocked the platform to the core. Some claim it opened the door to abusive content, cyberbullying, hate speech, and more, while others believe the move promoted free speech. Those who no longer saw Twitter as a safe and inclusive environment or who experienced harassment or bullying chose to delete their account. If you are ready to leave the app behind, deleting your Twitter account is easy, but it does take a bit of patience for the move to become permanent. Let’s take a closer look at the steps involved in deleting your account, how long it will take, and what will happen once it’s done.
How To Delete Your Twitter Account
You can delete your Twitter account on a desktop or mobile device, but it’s important to note that you must first deactivate it. Twitter will automatically delete your account after deactivation as long as you haven’t accessed it.
To Delete Your Twitter Account on a Desktop:
To Delete a Twitter Account From an Android:
To Delete Your Twitter Account on iOS:
What Happens When I Deactivate My Twitter Account?
When you are deactivating your Twitter account, a screen will pop up telling you additional information regarding the process. According to Twitter, the information is as follows:
- If your Twitter account was wrongfully or accidentally deactivated, you can restore it for up to 30 days.
- Any actively paid subscriptions ( e.g., Super Follows, Twitter Blue) that you purchased through your app will stay active, and you will still be able to manage them on the platform where they were initially purchased. If a subscription was purchased on Twitter.com, it will automatically cancel when you deactivate your account.
- Some of your account information may still be available on different search engines like Bing or Google.
- If you only want to change your username, you don’t have to deactivate your account; you can edit it in the settings.
- If you want to use your current email address or username for a new or different Twitter account, you will need to change them before deactivating your current account.
- If you want to download your existing Twitter information and data, you will need to complete a request and download it prior to deactivating your account. You will not be able to send links to download your information once your account is deactivated.
What To Consider Before Deleting Your Twitter Account
Once your 30-day deactivation period is up, Twitter will permanently delete your account if you have not accessed it. Once deleted, it will no longer be available in the platform’s systems, and you will not be able to reactivate it and access your old tweets. Additionally, after deletion, other Twitter accounts will be able to register and use your username. When you deactivate your account, all mentions of your username in other user’s tweets will still exist, but they won’t link back to your profile since it will not exist any longer. If you are concerned about this content, you can file a ticket requesting the platform to review it under its Twitter Rules.
If you no longer want to delete your account, you can sign into it within the 30-day deactivation period, and it will be restored automatically. Along with search engines like Bing and Google, Twitter may keep some of your information from your deactivated account to ensure the security and safety of the platform and its users.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why is My Twitter Account Reactivating After I Deactivated It?
If you notice your account keeps getting reactivated after you've deactivated it, it may be due to third-party apps you've given authorized access to. These apps may indirectly log you in, which will cause your account to automatically reactivate. You can revoke all third-party access to stop this from occurring.
If I Deactivate Twitter Will It Delete All of My Direct Messages?
None of your information will be deleted during the 30-day deactivation period; however, once the 30 days is complete, all of your account data, including direct messages you've sent and received, will be deleted.
Can I Deactivate My Twitter Account Without My Original Password?
If you can’t remember your password or see an error message when you input it, you will have to request a password reset email. Follow the prompts to reset your password, and you should be good to go.
If I Can No Longer Access My Original Email That I Used To Open My Account, Can I Still Reset My Password?
If you no longer have access to the original email used when creating your account, you should contact the service provider for further assistance. Twitter uses the email address you entered when you first created your account for all validation purposes, and you can only deactivate your account if you can access it. Users can use a verified mobile number if they don't have access to their email, but you must use one of these two confirmation methods to successfully deactivate your Twitter account. If you can access the verified mobile number associated with your account, you can use it to reset your account password.
Is It Possible To Deactivate My Account If It is Locked or Suspended?
If you're trying to deactivate an account that is locked or suspended, you will have to submit a request to the Twitter team. If you need assistance unblocking your Twitter account, you can request help, and a team member will assist you. Remember, you must have access to the original email account that you used when you created your Twitter account for deactivation to successfully occur. You can click on the following links for information on managing a suspended or locked account including filing an appeal so you can deactivate it.
You may want to delete your Twitter account for many reasons, including getting away from harassment or bullying, taking a break from social media, and more. Fortunately, Twitter makes it easy to delete your account, but you will have to deactivate it first and wait 30 days for the process to be completed. Once deleted, you will no longer have access to your account information like old tweets and sent or received direct messages.
If, during the 30-day deactivation period, you no longer wish to delete your account, you can simply log in, and the platform will automatically reactivate it. If you notice your account is getting reactivated, it may be due to a third-party app indirectly logging in, and you will have to revoke their access to stop it from happening. Finally, you will need the email you used when creating your account or a verified mobile number to complete the deletion process.