viralyft logo

Buy Followers, Likes, Views & More! 🚀

Buy Followers, Likes, Views & More! 🚀

How To Reset the TikTok Algorithm in 4 Steps

TikTok’s algorithm is relentless with its recommendations. Discover how you can use a new, little-known feature to reset the algorithm in just four steps.
Share article via:
How To Reset TikTok Algorithm
Table of Contents

Resetting your TikTok algorithm or for-you-page was very time-consuming and complex before an official release in March 2023. You can now reset the way that the platform picks videos for you to see so that you can effectively “start your account over.”

You won’t need to delete your cache or go through the tedious task of deleting your watch history for this reset method to work.

If you want to stop seeing model videos or irrelevant content because your likes and dislikes have changed since you opened your account, you’re going to love this simple method.

How do you reset TikTok’s algorithm? We’ll walk you through the four steps below and you’ll be well on your way to wiping your account free so that you can reshape your for-you-page and recommendations by interacting with accounts you like and follow.

How Do You Reset the TikTok Algorithm?

In 2023, TikTok released a new tool that allows users to easily reset their feed and start retraining the algorithm to see more of the content they like. 

In just four steps, you can wipe the slate clean and explore new content.

Here’s how to reset the algorithm on TikTok:

  • First, navigate to the Settings and Privacy section from the menu.
  • Scroll down to Content & Activity and find the Content Preferences section.
  • Look for the option to Refresh your For You Feed.
  • Follow the prompts to complete the refresh process.

Your For You feed should now be reset. You can go through this process as often as you want if you feel like you’re not seeing the content you want.

Other Ways To Filter Your Content

Refreshing your feed is easy, but TikTok also gives you other tools to filter your content preferences, like the “Not interested” button and hashtag filters.

Both of these options give you more control over the content you see on TikTok.

Here’s how to use them:

  • Open the TikTok app.
  • You can either search for the hashtag on the search bar, or scroll through your feed until you find a video with the hashtag you want to block.
  • Now, tap and hold the video.
  • Tap “Not interested,” when the prompt pops up.
  • A message will appear that says, “We’ll show fewer videos like this,” along with a link to see more Details. Tap the Details link.
  • A Filter hashtags screen will appear. Tap on the hashtags you want to block.
  • Tap Submit.

TikTok will no longer show you any videos with those hashtags.

If you ever want to unblock a hashtag:

  • Head to Settings and Privacy.
  • Find Content Preferences.
  • Choose Filter video keywords.
  • Find the keywords you want to unblock.
  • Uncheck the hashtags to start seeing those videos again.

TikTok is making it easier to filter the content you see, but why would you want to even bother refreshing your feed?

Why Would You Want To Reset Your Content Preferences?

TikTok’s algorithm is one of – if not the – best social media platforms for recommendations. You’ll be shown highly relevant video and account suggestions that are 100% spot on. The videos are eerily accurate and will keep you glued to the app for hours.

But if you want to stop seeing these recommendations, you can by following the steps outlined previously.

Why would you want to reset the TikTok algorithm?

  • You no longer have the same likes that you did in the past.
  • Life changes have led you to watch different types of content. For example, if you recently started dating, maybe you don’t want to see model accounts flood your feed.
  • Someone else used your account, and now you’re seeing recommendations that no longer make sense.
  • You want to keep your current account but don’t like the latest suggestions that you receive.

Weeks, months and years can go into growing a TikTok account, and it’s unthinkable to allow a few odd videos on your for-you page to cause you to delete your account.

 

Instead, with just a few steps, you can now reset the algorithm using a method that works 100% of the time. You can use the reset to start your account anew with all of the same followers and videos, but you won’t see the same recommendations anymore. 

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Topics You Might Like