Buy Followers, Likes, Views & More! 🚀

Buy Followers, Likes, Views & More! 🚀
Search
Close this search box.

How To Remove Followers on Twitter

As an aspiring influencer, gaining as many followers as possible on Twitter is a huge goal, but sometimes, you may want to remove or even block a problematic user. Fortunately, it's easy to do and only takes a few steps.
Share article via:
How To Remove Followers on Twitter
Table of Contents

Key Takeaways

To remove followers from Twitter: In a browser, open the Twitter app > Select Profile > Click your follower count > Find the follower you want to remove and tap the three dots beside their name > Select Remove this follower > That’s it!

Along with removing followers, you can block them from your account entirely.

If you don’t want to remove or completely block a follower, you can “soft block” them.

Why Would I Want To Remove A Follower From My Twitter Account?

It may seem counterintuitive for an aspiring influencer to remove followers from their Twitter account since the whole goal is to grow and gain more exposure. However, there may be times when you no longer want a certain user following you, either due to inappropriate behaviors like bullying or harassment, feeling threatened, no longer wanting to be associated with them, or any other reason. Regardless of the “why”, if you want to remove a follower from your Twitter account, it’s easy to do and only takes a few steps.

How To Remove A Follower From Twitter

Depending on the device you’re using, you can remove a follower from your Twitter account quickly and easily. 

To Remove a Follower on a Browser:

Step #1: In a browser, open the Twitter app or Twitter.com

Step #2: Select Profile

Profile

Step #3: Click your follower count

Your Follower Count

Step #4: Find the follower you want to remove and tap the three dots beside their name

Tap Three dots

Step #5: Select Remove this follower

Select Remove this Follower

Step #6: Click Remove to confirm

Click Remove

While you can’t remove a follower from your Twitter account on a mobile device, you can do it through the mobile version on the browser.

To Remove Followers on Mobile:

Step #1: In your web browser, go to Twitter.com

Twitter

Step #2: Log into your Twitter account

Log into Twitter

Step #3: On the top left of the screen, click on the Profile icon

Profile Icon

Step #4: Tap your follower count

Tap Follower Count

Step #5: Find the follower you want to remove and tap the three dots beside their name

Tap Three Dots

Step #6: Select Remove this follower

Select Remove this follower

Step #7: Click Remove to confirm

Remove Confirm

When you remove a follower from your Twitter account, they won’t receive a notification,but they will be able to continue direct messaging you and see your tweets, depending on the settings you have in place. However, if they want to see your tweets on their timeline, they would have to follow you. If you want to keep them from seeing your tweets and direct messaging you, you can block them or do what’s called a “soft block.”

What Does It Mean To Soft Block A Twitter Follower

Soft-blocking a Twitter follower is another way to remove them from your followers list without completely blocking them. In fact, before removing a follower became a feature in itself, soft blocking was the only way to remove them from your followers list. Soft blocking temporarily restricts users from viewing your content, making it a great option if you’re not sure whether you want to cut them off completely. 

To Soft Block a Follower on Twitter on Mobile:

Step #1: Open the Twitter app

Step #2: Click your profile.

Click Profile

Step #3: Tap Followers

Tap Followers

Step #4: Locate the follower you want to soft-block

Locate Follower

Step #5: Click on their name to access their account

Step #6: Tap the three dots on the upper right-hand corner

Tap three dots

Step #7: Select Block

Block

Step #8: Tap Block again to confirm

Block Again

Step #9: Click Unblock

Unblock

Their account is unblocked, but they are no longer following you.

When you soft block a user, they won’t know that you blocked and unblocked them; they will only see that they no longer follow you. 

Protecting Your Tweets

If you are concerned about who follows you on Twitter, you can choose to protect your tweets by approving all new follow requests. While this is an excellent way to maintain control over your account and limit who can see your tweets, it’s not a great idea if you’re trying to grow your brand or gain more exposure. 

To Protect Your Twitter Posts:

Step #1: Open your Twitter app

Step #2: Click Settings and privacy

 

Tap Settings & Privacy

Step #3: Scroll and tap Privacy and safety

Tap Privacy And Safety

Step #4: Click on Audience and Tagging

Tap Audience and Tagging

Step #5: Toggle on Protect your Post.

Protect Your Posts

Step #6: Confirm by selecting Protect

Your account is now private, and you must manually approve all new followers.

Frequently Asked Questions 

Why Can't I Remove Followers on Twitter?

If you're trying to remove followers on your mobile phone, you won't be able to since that feature isn't enabled yet. The good news is that you can do so on any browser using the steps outlined above.

If I Don't Have a Computer, Can I Remove Twitter followers?

Yes, although there is not yet a specific feature to remove followers on a mobile phone, you can still do so by soft-blocking them.

CanYou Remove a Follower Without Blocking?

You don't need to block a Twitter follower to remove them; you simply need to follow the steps above on a web browser. While you don't have to block them, you can do so if you no longer want the user to be able to see your tweets or direct message you.

What Happens When You Block a Follower on Twitter?

A blocked user can no longer follow you, direct message you, find or view your tweets when they are logged into their account.

Conclusion

If you want to remove a follower from your Twitter account, you can do so with a few easy steps, but you must be on a web browser for it to work. If you’re using a mobile phone, you can “soft block” the user, which will accomplish the same results. Once removed, your tweets will no longer appear in their feed, but they can still send you direct messages. 

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *